Chorale & Chamber Singers

The Spokane Symphony is excited to announce new developments in the choral part of the organization. We had been planning to create more flexibility for the Director of the Spokane Symphony, James Lowe, by offering smaller project-based groups of singers. Then the pandemic made singing in live choral ensembles impossible. As all performing groups rebuild themselves into the most logical and useful configurations for their members and their host organizations, Spokane Symphony is holding auditions August 5-12, 2021 for singers in both groups for the 21-22 season. Email for more information.



The Spokane Symphony Chorale was established in 1955 as a volunteer organization singers and musicians performing choral music in this region. Since 1978 the Chorale has been an official entity of the Spokane Symphony. As part of the Spokane Symphony, they have performed a wide range of musical works with the orchestra, including Dvorak's Te Deum, Verdi's Requiem, Handel's Messiah, Britten's War Requiem, Mendelssohn's Lobgesang, Beethoven's Missa Solemnis, Mozart's C Minor Mass, Berlioz's Damnation of Faust, and Rachmaninoff's The Bells. In addition, they have performed in numerous operas, including Verdi's Rigoletto, Puccini's La boheme, and Bizet's Carmen.



Led by Director Kristina Ploeger-Hekmatpanah since 2016, the Chorale enjoys a dedicated volunteer base of over 80 singers from all across the metro Spokane area; including many who commute from Coeur d'Alene, Davenport, Sandpoint, Pullman, and many other locations. These musicians participate in the over 100 hours of volunteer rehearsal and performance time required for each concert season. The professions of these volunteers are varied and include music educators, church choir directors, opera and theater performers, doctors, nurses, realtors, salesmen, homemakers, and many others who come together to share a love of singing. 


Every spring, the Chorale presents a concert to benefit the Symphony through the Cantabile chapter of Spokane Symphony Associates. These concerts provide a dedicated avenue for this magnificent ensemble to reach choral music lovers in the region as well as monetarily support the Symphony.


Chorale Members

Kristina Ploeger-Hekmatpanah, Chorale Director
Carolyn Jess, piano


Section Leader TBD


Section Leader TBD


Section Leader TBD


Section Leader TBD



<November 2021>
View All Events